- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
 News Room
  News Releases
     MSDE News
  Special Reports
  Calendar at a Glance
  Videos on MSDE TV
News Release Detail
News Release
For Immediate Release Contact:William Reinhard, MSDE, 410.767.0486; cell: 443.670.7072 or
Alisha Martin, Comcast, 410.513.3155; cell: 443.418.1353
Important news for the public NEWS RELEASE
Statewide Winner to be Announced at Award Ceremony on May 8

BALTIMORE, MD (March 23, 2009)

State Superintendent of Schools Nancy S. Grasmick and Comcast today announced the 24 semifinalists for the 2009 Comcast Parent Involvement Matters Awards.

A collaboration between Comcast and the Maryland State Department of Education, the Comcast Parent Involvement Matters Awards is the nation’s first statewide initiative of its kind, recognizing parents and legal guardians for their exceptional support of public education. Parents are nominated for demonstrating significant, positive impact in their communities.

The 2009 Comcast Parent Involvement Matters Awards will be presented in a special celebration on May 8th. Five finalists and a statewide winner, selected from the 24 semifinalists named today, will be announced at the award ceremony.

“I am truly humbled by the commitment and dedication to Maryland’s public schools that these 24 semifinalists have displayed,” said Dr. Grasmick. “The partnership with Comcast allows us the opportunity to celebrate and honor these inspirational parents, who continue to find innovative and creative ways to make our schools stronger through parent involvement.”

“Comcast is committed to fostering healthy, vibrant communities, with a focus on creating opportunities for youth leadership and development,” said Fred Graffam, senior vice president of Comcast’s Beltway Region. “We recognize the important role that parents play in nurturing our future leaders, and we’re proud to work with the Maryland State Department of Education to honor them for their spirit, dedication and inspiration to others.”

The Comcast Parent Involvement Matters Awards program recognizes parents from local school systems across the state of Maryland who were nominated in five areas of parental involvement: Communication, Volunteering, Learning, Decision Making, and Community Collaboration. The statewide winner and five finalists will be awarded a cash prize to further their efforts to improve the public schools they represent.

Many of last year’s semifinalists have become parent involvement advocates on the statewide level, serving as members of task forces, presenters at statewide meetings, and participants in education events, such as the recent Summit on School Safety Solutions.

“I am honored to be the first statewide Comcast Parent Involvement Matters Award winner," said Larry Walker, 2008 award recipient. “To be acknowledged by those who believe the education of America's future rests on the involvement of parents and community members alongside our professional educators is a privilege I will always cherish.”

2009 Comcast Parent Involvement Matters Awards Semifinalists

Stephanie Turbin - Flintstone Elementary School, Allegany County Public Schools

Carolyn Fiume
– Anne Arundel School System, Anne Arundel County Public Schools

Tracie Martin
– Inner Harbor East Academy, Baltimore City Public Schools

Mark Lewis
– Patapsco High School, Baltimore County Public Schools

James Carroll
– Calvert Middle School, Calvert County Public Schools

Jemima Clark
– Denton Elementary School, Caroline County Public Schools

Laurie Long
– North Carroll High School, Carroll County Public Schools

Kathy Joseph
– Cecil County School System, Cecil County Public Schools

Kristina Gozzi – J.P. Ryon Elementary School, Charles County Public Schools

Valerie Jordan
– Cambridge-South Dorchester High School, Dorchester County Public Schools

Brian Barron
– Myersville Elementary School, Frederick County Public Schools

Christine Brenneman
– Grantsville Elementary School, Garrett County Public Schools

Mark Daghir
– Darlington Elementary School, Harford County Public Schools

Sandra Holt
– Bollman Bridge Elementary School, Howard County Public Schools

Kiki Jones
– Garnett Elementary School, Kent County Public Schools

Ann English
– Rockville High School, Montgomery County Public Schools

Kristen Ruiz
– Bond Mill Elementary School, Prince George’s County Public Schools

Wendy Panor
– Centreville Middle School, Queen Anne’s County Public Schools

Maria Scott
– Park Hall Elementary School, Saint Mary’s County Public Schools

Robert Wells
– Deal Island Elementary School, Somerset County Public Schools

Jenny Schmidt
– Easton Elementary School, Talbot County Public Schools

Steven O’Farrell
– Fountaindale Elementary School, Washington County Public Schools

Ginny Steuart
– Glen Avenue School, Wicomico County Public Schools

Marilyn James
– Ocean City Elementary School, Worcester County Public Schools

 # # #
MSDE Privacy Statement Disclaimer  | Copyright © 2003 MSDE