- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
 News Room
  News Releases
     MSDE News
  Special Reports
  Calendar at a Glance
  Videos on MSDE TV
News Release Detail
Media Alert
For Immediate Release Contact:Gail V. Tucker, 410.767.0482, William Reinhard, 410.767.0486 or
Dr. Darla Strouse, 410.767.0370, Day of Event, 410.302.0263/cell
Notices to the media and community about upcoming events MEDIA ALERT
BALTIMORE, MD (October 5, 2010)

WHO: Lt. Governor Anthony Brown
          State Superintendent of Schools Dr. Nancy S. Grasmick
          Dignitaries and Presenting Sponsors (listed below)

WHAT: The 20th Annual Gala Awards Banquet ~ the premier celebration which recognizes the teaching profession and the 24 local Teachers of the Year who serve as its ambassadors. The highlight of the evening will be the surprise naming of the statewide Teacher of the Year. The announcement will be made at approximately 9:15 p.m. The winner, who will receive a 2011 Chevrolet Cruze as a gift, moves on to the National Teacher of the Year competition. The Maryland Teacher of the Year is a program of the Maryland State Department of Education and an affiliate of the National Teacher of the Year Program.

FINALISTS: Doris L. O’Donnell,
                    Patuxent Elementary School, Calvert County
                  Mark S. Howell,
Westlake High School, Charles County
                  Michelle Shearer,
                    Urbana High School, Frederick County
                  Lisa Mullen,
                    North Harford Middle School, Harford County
                  Matthew Kinloch,
                    Glenelg High School, Howard County
                  James Schafer,
                    Montgomery Blair High School, Montgomery County
                      Tiffany Doster,
                    Barack Obama Elementary School, Prince George’s County

Friday, October 8, 2010     5:30 – 9:45 p.m.

Martin’s West
             6817 Dogwood Road
             Woodlawn, Maryland 21244

Comptroller Peter Franchot; Congressman John Sarbanes; U.S. Senator Paul S. Sarbanes; Congressman Dutch Ruppersberger; Congressman Frank Kratovil; Congressman Elijah Cummings; Richard Schmaley, Vice President, Northrop Grumman Electronic Systems; Sam Weaver, Chairman, Maryland Automobile Dealers Association; Albert Seecharan, Vice President, McDonalds Baltimore/Washington Region; Calvin Disney, Vice President, Whiting-Turner Contracting Company; Donna Richardson, Comcast Newsmakers; Mary Bubala, News Anchor, WJZ-TV, Channel 13; and Bill Couper, President, Bank of America Baltimore/Washington Region.

Presenting Sponsors and Distinguished Guests include: Comcast; Maryland Automobile Dealers Association; McDonald’s Family of Greater Baltimore; and Northrop Grumman Electronic Systems.

 # # #
MSDE Privacy Statement Disclaimer  | Copyright © 2003 MSDE