- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
 News Room
  News Releases
     MSDE News
  Special Reports
  Calendar at a Glance
  Videos on MSDE TV
News Release Detail
News Release
For Immediate Release Contact:William Reinhard, MSDE, 410.767.0486; cell/443.670.7072, Gail V. Tucker, MSDE, 410.767.0482; cell/443.722.1618 or
Alisha Martin, Comcast, 410.513.3155; cell/443.418.1353
Important news for the public NEWS RELEASE

BALTIMORE, MD (March 16, 2011)

State Superintendent of Schools Nancy S. Grasmick and Comcast today announced the 24 semifinalists for the 2011 Comcast Parent Involvement Matters Awards.

A collaboration between Comcast and the Maryland State Department of Education, the Comcast Parent Involvement Matters Awards is the nation’s first statewide initiative of its kind – recognizing parents and legal guardians for their exceptional support of public education. Parents are nominated for demonstrating significant, positive impact in their education communities.

The 2011 Comcast Parent Involvement Matters Awards will be presented during an evening celebration on Friday, May 20. Five finalists and a statewide winner, selected from the 24 semifinalists named today, will be announced at the awards ceremony.

"I continue to be astounded and grateful of what parents across Maryland are capable of achieving in our schools. From the mountains of Western Maryland to the ocean of the Eastern Shore – from our big urban facilities made up of vibrant communities to the expansive rural countryside, the contributions to public education that parents provide cannot be understated," said Dr. Grasmick. "Parent involvement plays an intricate role in academic success, and recognition such as this could only be possible through our partnership with Comcast."

"Youth leadership development is a central focus in Comcast’s community investment initiatives," said Tom Coughlin, regional senior vice president for Comcast. "Through our partnership with the Maryland State Department of Education, we are able to honor parents who play such a crucial role in the education and advancement of our future leaders."

The Comcast Parent Involvement Matters Awards Program recognizes parents from local school systems across the State of Maryland, nominated for their contributions in one or more of the five areas of parental involvement: Communication, Volunteering, Learning, Decision Making, and Community Collaboration.

Many of the semifinalists from previous years have become parent involvement advocates on the statewide level – serving as members of task forces, presenters at statewide meetings, and participants in education conventions and focus groups.

2011 Comcast Parent Involvement Matters Awards Semifinalists

Rosalie Knippenberg - John Humbird Elementary School, Allegany County Public Schools

Ruth Lurz - Jessup Elementary School, Anne Arundel County Public Schools

David Conn - Mount Washington Elementary School, Baltimore City Public Schools

Becky Karatzas - Sandy Plains Elementary School, Baltimore County Public Schools

Janet Cratty - Huntingtown High School, Calvert County Public Schools

Lisa Lednum - Federalsburg Elementary School, Caroline County Public Schools

Vicki Mahr - Westminster West Middle School, Carroll County Public Schools

Linda Hamdy - Holly Hall Elementary School, Cecil County Public Schools

Latrina Carr - J.P. Ryon Elementary School, Charles County Public Schools

Blanca Cruz - Hurlock Elementary School, Dorchester County Public Schools

Shawna Capotosto – Frederick County Public Schools

Bette Gibbs - Accident Elementary School, Garrett County Public Schools

Elisabeth Goetz - Forest Hill Elementary School, Harford County Public Schools

Susan Lustbader - Atholton High School, Howard County Public Schools

Tom Willis - Rock Hall Elementary School, Kent County Public Schools

Sophally McCormick - Westover Elementary School, Montgomery County Public Schools

Stephanie Pressley - Gwynn Park High School, Prince George's County Public Schools

Michelle Kealey - Kennard Elementary School, Queen Anne's County Public Schools

Beth Rawlinson - Leonardtown Middle School, St. Mary's County Public Schools

Antonio Deepree - Princess Anne Elementary School, Somerset County Public Schools

Joanne Newmier - White Marsh Elementary School, Talbot County Public Schools

Geraldine Barnes - Rockland Woods Elementary School, Washington County Public Schools

Benjamin Brumbley - Parkside High School, Wicomico County Public Schools

Christine Brous - Ocean City Elementary School, Worcester County Public Schools

 # # #
MSDE Privacy Statement Disclaimer  | Copyright © 2003 MSDE