- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
  Awards and Recognition
     Awards and Recognition
     Blue Ribbon
     MD Comic Book Initiative
     Milken National Educator Awards
     National Teachers Hall of Fame Award
     Teachers of Promise
  Bridge to Excellence
  Charter Schools
  Common Core State Standards
  Environmental Programs
  Equity Assurance
  ESEA Flexibility
  ESOL/Title III
  Family Literacy
  Financial Literacy
  Gifted and Talented
  Homeless Education Assistance
  Maryland Skills2Compete
  Military Families
  Multicultural Education
  No Child Left Behind
  Parent Involvement Matters Award
  Race to the Top
  Residential Education Program
  Response to Intervention
  School / Community Nutrition
  School Wellness Policy
  STEM Education
  Teacher and Principal Evaluation
  Technology/Library Media
  Title I
  21st Century Learning Centers
Programs > Awards and Recognition > docs
2003-2004 Maryland Teachers of the Year
Teachers of the Year 2003
Governor Robert Ehrlich with the 2003-2004 Maryland Teachers of the Year.
Photo credit: Regina Simpson

41 people attended the cruise aboard Maryland's flagship the Maryland Independence, Thursday, July 10, 2003 despite threats of thunderstorms. The cruise, an annual event for Maryland Local Teachers of the Year, took us from Annapolis, MD on the Chesapeake Bay to St. Michael's and back on the Severn River. Governor Robert Ehrlich stopped by to greet the teachers and spent close to an hour speaking and congratulating the teachers.

From left to right: Front row: Darla Strouse, Executive Director, Teacher of the Year Program; State Superintendent Dr. Nancy Grasmick; and the following Teachers of the Year: Aaron Deal, Wicomico County; Karen Linamen, Somerset County; Gabriel DiGennaro, Prince George's County; Richard Stevens, Garrett County; Donna Clem, Harford County; Nancy Phillips, Dorchester County; Elaine Tubb, Charles County; Maria DiBello, Calvert County; Jaime Jezovnik, Carroll County; Charlene Fraser, Frederick County; Anne Gellrich, Cecil County; Amy Tubman, Talbot County; Nancy Koza, Howard County.

Back row: Pamela Michael, Washington County; Monica Carr, Baltimore City; Paul Winfield, Baltimore County; Governor Robert Ehrlich; Paul Adams, Allegany County; Carvel LaCurts, Worcester County; Patricia Teague, St. Mary's County; Weldon Jones, Anne Arundel County.

Contact Information
Darla Strouse, Executive Director
Maryland State Department of Education
200 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone:  410-767-0369
Fax:  410-333-3867
Email:  dstrouse@msde.state.md.us
Maryland State Department of Education
200 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
MSDE Privacy Statement Disclaimer  | Copyright © 2003 MSDE