- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
  Awards and Recognition
  Bridge to Excellence
  Charter Schools
  Common Core State Standards
  Environmental Programs
  Equity Assurance
  ESEA Flexibility
  ESOL/Title III
  Family Literacy
  Financial Literacy
  Gifted and Talented
  Homeless Education Assistance
  Maryland Skills2Compete
  Military Families
  Multicultural Education
  No Child Left Behind
  Parent Involvement Matters Award
  Race to the Top
  Residential Education Program
  Response to Intervention
  School / Community Nutrition
  School Wellness Policy
     About Service-Learning
     Local School System Information
     Project Ideas
     Training Tools
     Program Evaluation Tools/ Quality Review
     Site Index
     Service-Learning Units
     Annual Service-Learning Recognition Event
     Preparation, Action, Reflection
     S-L Curriculum Materials
     Service-Learning Events
  STEM Education
  Teacher and Principal Evaluation
  Technology/Library Media
  Title I
  21st Century Learning Centers
Programs > Service-Learning > Docs
Service Star Awards for 1996-1997

Beginning in 1996-97, the Maryland State Department of Education, the Maryland Student Service Alliance and community businesses have recognized students who have displayed exemplary attributes and dedication to the field of service within their schools and communities. These students have exceeded expectations for their school district's service-learning graduation requirement and are excellent role models for other students. The following students are the Service Star Award recipients for the 1996-97 school year.

Allegany County * Brandy Snyder, Mt. Savage High School
* Brian Grim, Fort Hill High School
Anne Arundel County * Matthew Quarrick, Old Mill High School
* Teresa Addeo, South River High School
Baltimore City * Justin Gamble, Mergenthaler Vo-Tech High School
* Jenifer Bell, Western High School
Baltimore County * Clayton Triola, Chesapeake High School
* Carrie Desmond, Loch Raven High School
Calvert County * Jessica Forbes, Calvert High School
* Carol Leming, Northern High School
Caroline County * Erin Wiley, North Caroline High School
* Robert Jason Wielgosz, Col. Richardson High School
Carroll County * Joshua M. Kibler, Westminster High School
* Carrie Thompson, Liberty High School
Cecil County * Casey Gainey, Perryville High School
* Nicolette Boulden, Elkton High School
Charles County * Peggy Mills, Lackey High School
* Kianta Henson, Lackey High School
Frederick County * Cara Breeden, Middletown High School
* Jennie Lindstrom, Middletown High School
Garrett County * Elizabeth Sines, Southern Garrett High School
* Jamie Shoemake, Northern Garrett High School
Harford County * Jeremiah Daigle, Havre de Grace High School
* April Evans, Havre de Grace High School
Howard County * Lisa Fick, Howard High School
* Laura Rodini, Howard High School
Montgomery County * Tiffany Butcher, Churchill High School
* Jeff Levine, Sherwood High School
Prince George's County * Abdullah Pope, Crossland High School
* Roger Rinehart, Bladensburg High School
Queen Anne's County * Vanessa Hollaway, Queen Anne's High School
* Laura Rader, Queen Anne's High School
St. Mary's County *
Somerset County * Timothy C. Larson, Crisfield High School
* Michael Palmer, Washington High School
Talbot County * Letitia Thomas, Easton High School
* Ann Woodall, St. Michael High School
Washington County * Travis Crowder, Hancock High School
* Rebekah S. Jones, North Hagerstown High School
Wicomico County * Susanne Adkins, Parkside High School
* Richard Yoskey, Wicomico High School
Worcester County * Tammy DeBee, Stephen Decatur High School
* Rachel Scher, Pocomoke High School

Return to the main Service Stars page to see award recipients for other school years.

Contact Information
Julie Ayers, Service-Learning Specialist
Maryland State Department of Education
200 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone:  410-767-0358
Fax:  410-333-8010


Maryland State Department of Education
200 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
MSDE Privacy Statement Disclaimer  | Copyright © 2003 MSDE