Alt-MSA

Alternate Maryland School Assessment

2014 Handbook



IMPORTANT: You MUST read this handbook thoroughly and follow the procedures and instructions contained herein in their entirety. Failure to follow proper testing procedures is a violation of the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR), Section 13A.03.04.05A: Test Administration and Data reporting Policies and Procedures, Testing Behavior Violations.

Publication Date: June 3, 2013

Dr. Lillian M. LoweryState Superintendent of Schools

Dr. Charlene M. Dukes *President*Maryland State Board of Education

Martin O'Malley Governor, State of Maryland



The Maryland State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, sex, age, national origin, religion, disability, or sexual orientation in matters affecting employment or in providing access to programs. For inquiries related to department policy, please contact:

Equity Assurance and Compliance Branch Maryland State Department of Education 200 West Baltimore Street Baltimore, Maryland 21201 Phone (410) 767-0433; TTY/TDD (410) 333-6442 Fax (410) 767-0431

Copyright © 2013 by Maryland State Department of Education. Only Maryland State educators and citizens may copy and/or download and print the document, located online at https://docushare.msde.state.md.us. Any other use or reproduction of this document, in whole or in part, requires written permission of the Maryland State Department of Education.

The Maryland State Department of Education extends its sincere thanks and appreciation for the contribution of those individuals and groups who have been instrumental in the development and implementation of the Alternate Maryland School Assessment (Alt-MSA):

The Alt-MSA 2014 Handbook was written by

Karen Andrews

Division of Special Education/Early Intervention Services

Trinell Bowman

Division of Curriculum and Assessment



Alt-MSA Stakeholder Advisory Committee

Susan Austin

Coordinator of Secondary Special Education Harford County Public Schools

Tom Barkley

Transition Coordinator, MSDE

Paul Owens

Principal, Cedar Lane School Howard County Public Schools

Dr. Haydee M. M. De Paula

Support Services Coordinator for Adolescents at The Arc, Montgomery County The Arc, Montgomery County Liaison with Parents of Children with Down Syndrome Group

Peggy Harrington

Supervisor of Testing Prince George's County Public Schools

Sara Egorin-Hooper

Supervisor, Alt-MSA, Autism & Behavior Support Baltimore County Public Schools

Belinda Gulyas

Alt-MSA Facilitator Curriculum Coordinator Worcester County Public Schools

Dawn Ibberson

Director of Education, LEAP Kennedy Krieger

Dr. Frances Kohl

Associate Professor for the Department of Special Education University of Maryland

Lisa Wenzel

Principal, James E. Duckworth School Prince George's County Public Schools

Beth Benevides-Hill

Parent and Board Member of Howard County Autism Society

Ann Kenney

Special Educator Dundalk High School Baltimore County Public Schools

JoAnn Kelley

Alt-MSA Facilitator Special Educator, Chestertown Middle School Kent County Public Schools

Dr. Diane Kelly

Connections Beyond Sight and Sound Department of Special Education University of Maryland

Debra Pearce

Supervisor, Special Education St. Mary's County Public Schools

Michael A. Plummer

Curriculum Coordinator
The Maryland School for the Blind

Heather Allcok

Team Leader, Professional Development Services Maryland Coalition for Inclusive Education (MCIE)

Suzanne E. Rumpf

Alt-MSA Facilitator/Teacher Specialist Frederick County Public Schools

Leslie Seid Margolis

Staff Attorney Maryland Disablilties Law Center

Dr. Deborah Taylor

Assistant Principal R.I.C.A School Montgomery County Public Schools

Portia White

Supervisor, Testing/Evaluation Howard County Public Schools

Alt-MSA Facilitators

Allegany County

Cindy O'Leary

Anne Arundel County

Kandy Chase

Baltimore City

Edna Harold

Baltimore County

Sara Egorin-Hooper

Calvert County

Zakia Lindsey

Caroline County

Rose Thomas Elizabeth Anthony

Carroll County

Kathy Kaufman

Cecil County

Marian Harvey

Charles County
Janet Stephanson

Dorchester County

Kim Waller

Frederick County

Suzanne Rumpf

Garrett County

Jim Morris

Harford County

Susan Austin

Howard County

Elizabeth Augustin

Kent County JoAnn Kelley **Montgomery County**

Myra Byrom

Prince George's County

Scott Geist Lillian Horton

Queen Anne's County

Kim Tucker

St. Mary's County

Debra Pearce

Somerset County

Fern Griffith

Talbot County

Christine Redman

Washington County

Karen Newman

Wicomico County

Holly Hatton

Worchester County

Belinda Gulyas

Special Placement Schools

Kennedy Krieger
Partnership Schools

Roslyn Canosa

Kennedy Krieger LEAP

Tim Dalton

The Maryland School

for the Blind

Michael A. Plummer

Local Accountability Coordinators

Allegany County

Marsha Miller

Anne Arundel County

Lavinia Ringgold

Baltimore City

Carol Wilson

Baltimore County

Stacy Shack

Calvert County

Catherine Page

Caroline County

Dr. Patricia Saelens

Carroll County

Lisa Busher

Cecil County

Bill Ide

Charles County

Cliff Eichel

Dorchester County

Michael Johnson

Frederick County

Deborah L Gilmartin

Garrett County

James Morris

Harford County

Phillip Snyder

Howard County

Portia White

Kent County

Dr. Nina Newlin

Montgomery County

Suzanne Woertz

Prince George's County

Peggy Harrington

Queen Anne's County

David Brown

St. Mary's County

Anthony Marcino

Somerset County

Vicki Carter

Talbot County

Lib Cassidy

Washington County

Jeremy Jakoby

Wicomico County

Gary Doss

Worcester County

Stephanie Zanich

Alternate Maryland School Assessment