- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
  Awards and Recognition
     Awards and Recognition
     Blue Ribbon
        2006-2007 Blue Ribbon Awards Photos
        2007-2008 Blue Ribbon Schools
        2010 Maryland’s National Blue Ribbon Schools Winning Applications
        2011 Maryland’s National Blue Ribbon Schools Winning Applications
        2011 Mayland Blue Ribbon Schools
        2012 Mayland Blue Ribbon Schools
        2012 Mayland Blue Ribbon Schools Photos
        Blue Ribbon School – Thomas Pyle Middle in Montgomery County
        Blue Ribbon Schools Archive
        Blue Ribbon Schools Tours of Excellence
        Maryland’s National Blue Ribbon Schools Winning Applications
     MD Comic Book Initiative
     Milken National Educator Awards
     National Teachers Hall of Fame Award
     Teachers of Promise
  Bridge to Excellence
  Charter Schools
  Common Core State Standards
  Environmental Programs
  Equity Assurance
  ESEA Flexibility
  ESOL/Title III
  Family Literacy
  Financial Literacy
  Gifted and Talented
  Homeless Education Assistance
  Maryland Skills2Compete
  Military Families
  Multicultural Education
  No Child Left Behind
  Parent Involvement Matters Award
  Race to the Top
  Residential Education Program
  Response to Intervention
  School / Community Nutrition
  School Wellness Policy
  STEM Education
  Teacher and Principal Evaluation
  Technology/Library Media
  Title I
  21st Century Learning Centers
Programs > Awards and Recognition > Blue Ribbon
2005 National Blue Ribbon School Award Winners

For Immediate Release: September 20, 2005

Contact: Jesse Jacobs, Andrew Burkowske
(202) 224-4524


Senators Paul S. Sarbanes (D-MD) and Barbara A. Mikulski (D-MD) today announced that six elementary schools across the State of Maryland have been named Blue Ribbon School Award winners from the United States Department of Education. The six Maryland schools are 6 of only 295 elementary schools nationwide to receive this prestigious school designation for public and private schools. All the schools nominated by the State of Maryland were selected by the Department of Education as Blue Ribbon School Award winners.

The six winning elementary schools are:

  •   Folger McKinsey Elementary School in 
     Severna Park, Anne Arundel County

  •   Sparks Elementary School in Baltimore County

  •   Clarksville Elementary School in Howard County

  •   Rock Hall Elementary School in Kent County

  •   Viers Mills Elementary School in Silver Spring in
     Montgomery County

  •   Showell Elementary School in Berlin in
Worcester County

Sarbanes, who was calling each of the winning elementary school principals today to tell them the great news, said “this designation is a ringing endorsement of the efforts underway in these schools to provide an opportunity for these students to succeed and achieve. Over the past few years, I have made a commitment to try and visit each of the Blue Ribbon Schools and have always been delighted to see first hand the interaction of parents, teachers, and the community in the success of the school.”

"Education must focus on the basics -- tough academic standards, safe and drug-free schools, and the latest in math and science technology," said Senator Mikulski. "Those are the key ingredients for educational excellence -- and the schools in Maryland that have won the Blue Ribbon School Award all have mastered these ingredients. They provide an opportunity structure for all children and equal opportunity for all children."

According to the Department of Education, Blue Ribbon Schools have been judged to be particularly effective in meeting local, state and national goals. These schools also display the qualities of excellence that are necessary to prepare our young people for the challenges of the next century. Blue Ribbon status is awarded to schools which have strong leadership; a clear vision and sense of mission that is shared by all connected with the school; high quality teaching; challenging, up-to-date curriculum; policies and practices that ensure a safe environment conducive to learning; a solid commitment to parental involvement; and evidence that the school helps all students to achieve high standards.

After a screening process by each State Department of Education, the Department of Defense Dependent Schools, the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and the Council for American Private Education, the Blue Ribbon School nominations were forwarded to the U.S. Department of Education. A panel of outstanding educators and other professionals then reviewed the nominations, selected schools for site visits, and made recommendations to the Secretary of Education.


Sarbanes and Mikulski announce 2005 National Blue Ribbon Schools Award Winners Press Release


Contact Information
Dr. Darla Strouse, Executive Director
Partnership and Recognition Programs
Maryland State Department of Education
200 West Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone:  410-767-0369
Fax:  410-333-2226
Email:  dstrouse@msde.state.md.us
 Blue Ribbon Schools
Blue Ribbon Schools Program
2005 National Blue Ribbon School Award Winners
2004-2005 Blue Ribbon Schools
2005-2006 Blue Ribbon Schools
 Press Releases
Sarbanes and Mikulski announce 2005 National Blue Ribbon Schools Award Winners
MSDE News Release - 2005 Blue Ribbon Schools Winners
MSDE Privacy Statement Disclaimer  | Copyright © 2003 MSDE