Skip to Main Content

Media Alert: General Assembly To Honor Maryland's Blue Ribbon Schools

Events Recognize State's Top Schools

For Immediate Release                                                        

Contacts: Dr. Darla Strouse, 410.303.1013/cell, William Reinhard, 410.767.0486

Baltimore, MD (March 4, 2015)

WHO:  Comptroller Peter Franchot
            State Board of Education President Charlene Dukes
            Maryland Chief Academic Officer Jack Smith
            Members of the Maryland General Assembly
            Local Administrators, Principals, and Teachers representing:

•  Lake Shore Elementary School, Anne Arundel County
•  Severna Park Elementary School, Anne Arundel County
•  Pine Grove Elementary School, Baltimore County
•   Kemptown Elementary School, Frederick County
•  Fountain Green Elementary, Harford County
•  Smithsburg High School, Washington County

WHAT:  An evening of celebration putting a focus on six of Maryland’s top-performing schools.  The schools are recognized on the basis of rigorous State and national requirements for high achievement and significant improvement. The students in each of these schools are high achievers in reading and mathematics, and many of the schools serve a significant number of economically disadvantaged students.  The evening is sponsored by BG&E, Comcast, SMART Technologies, Lightspeed Technologies, State Farm, NTA Life, Rudolph’s Office Supplies, and Mrs. Fields/Joe Corbi’s Fundraising.

WHEN:  Monday, March 9, 2015     5 – 7:30 p.m.

              -   5 p.m. ~ Reception at the Governor Calvert House

              -   5:30 ~ Dinner and Program

WHERE:  Governor Calvert House
                58 State Circle
                Annapolis, Maryland 21401