Skip to Main Content

Press Release: Lt. Governor, General Assembly To Honor State's Blue Ribbon Schools

Events On Monday Recognize State's Top Schools

For Immediate Release                                        

Contact: Dr. Darla Strouse, 410.303.1013/cell, William Reinhard, 410.767.0486

Baltimore, MD (March 11, 2016)

WHO:  Lt. Governor Boyd K. Rutherford
            Comptroller Peter Franchot
            State Board of Education President Guffrie Smith
            State Board Members Madhu Sidhu and Michele Guyton
            Acting State Superintendent Jack Smith
            Members of the Maryland General Assembly
            Local Administrators, Principals, and Teachers representing:

            •  Arnold Elementary School, Anne Arundel County
            •  Pasadena Elementary School, Anne Arundel County
            •  George Washington Carver Center for Arts & Technology, Baltimore County
            •  Hereford High School, Baltimore County
            •  North Harford Elementary School, Harford County
            •  White Marsh Elementary School, St. Mary’s County

WHAT:  An evening of celebration putting a focus on six of Maryland’s top-performing schools.  The schools are recognized on the basis of rigorous State and national requirements for high achievement and significant improvement. The students in each of these schools are high achievers in reading and mathematics, and many of the schools serve a significant number of economically disadvantaged students.  The evening is sponsored by BGE, Comcast, Dimension U, Mrs. Fields, NTA Life, Rudolph’s Office Supply, SMART Technologies, and State Farm Insurance.

WHEN:  Monday, March 14, 2016          5 – 7:30 p.m.
              5 p.m. ~ Reception at the Governor Calvert House
              5:30 ~ Dinner and Program

WHERE: Governor Calvert House
               58 State Circle
               Annapolis, Maryland 21401