Skip to Main Content

Media Alert: Maryland Teacher Of The Year To Be Named Friday, October 10

For Immediate Release                                                        
Contact: Bill Reinhard, 410-767-0486, Dr. Darla Strouse, 410-767-0369

Baltimore, MD (October 8, 2014)

WHO:   State Superintendent of Schools Lillian Lowery
             Sen. Paul Sarbanes
             Rep. Steny Hoyer
             Rep. Donna Edwards
             Rep. John Sarbanes                
             Attorney General Douglas Gansler
             Comptroller Peter Franchot
             Denise Koch, WJZ-13, Host
             Yolanda Vazquez, Maryland Public Television, Host

WHAT:  The 24th Annual Maryland Teacher of the Year Gala Reception and Dinner will spotlight our State’s top educators.  Representatives from all 24 school systems will be honored, and the top teacher will be selected from among seven finalists.  The finalists are: Kelly O’Hara, Cecil County; Erin Doolittle, Frederick County; Jody Zepp, Howard County; Jane Lindsay, Montgomery County; Anna Breland, Somerset County; Bridget Whited, Talbot County; and Courtney Leard, Washington County.

The winner will receive cash awards, technology equipment, national travel opportunities, and the gift of a new car valued at over $25,000, which is donated by the Maryland Automobile Dealers Association.  Presenting sponsors of the Maryland Teacher of the Year Program are Comcast, the Maryland Automobile Dealers Association, McDonald’s Family of Maryland, and Northrop Grumman Electronic Systems. Platinum sponsors are BGE, Lockheed Martin, Maryland Public Television, NTA Life and Whiting-Turner Contracting Company. 

WHEN:     5:30 p.m. (award at 9:30 p.m.)
                 Friday, October 10

WHERE:  Martin’s West
                6817 Dogwood Rd
                Baltimore, MD 21244
                (410) 944-9433