Media Alert: Maryland Teacher of The Year To Be Named Friday, October 11

For Immediate Release                                  
Contact: Bill Reinhard, MSDE, 410-767-0486
                Dr. Darla Strouse, 410-767-0369

Baltimore, MD (October 9, 2013)

WHO:    Governor Martin O’Malley
               State Superintendent of Schools Lillian Lowery
               Sen. Paul Sarbanes
               Rep. John Sarbanes
               Attorney General Douglas Gansler
               Comptroller Peter Franchot
                Denise Koch, Host
                Rhea Feikin, Host

WHAT: The 23rd Annual Maryland Teacher of the Year Gala Reception and Dinner will spotlight our State’s top educators.  Representatives from all 24 school systems will be honored, and the top teacher will be selected from among seven finalists.  The finalists are: Carol Garner, Allegany County; Jodie Hogan, Anne Arundel County; Ketia C. Stokes, Baltimore City; Sean McComb, Baltimore County; Steven Luthultz, Cecil County; George McGurl, Howard County; and Christina A. Ulrich, Montgomery County.                 

The winner will receive cash awards, technology equipment, national travel opportunities, and the gift of a 2014 Kia Forte valued at over $25,000, which is donated by the Maryland Automobile Dealers Association.  Presenting sponsors of the Maryland Teacher of the Year Program are Comcast, the Maryland Automobile Dealers Association, McDonald’s Family of Maryland, and Northrop Grumman Electronic Systems. Platinum sponsors are Bank of America, BGE, Lockheed Martin, Maryland Public Television, NTA Life, and Whiting-Turner Contracting Company. 

WHEN:          5:30 p.m. (award at 9:30 p.m.)
                       Friday, October 11

WHERE:       Martin’s West
                       6817 Dogwood Rd
                       Baltimore, MD 21244
                       (410) 944-9433